Press Releases

Congresswoman Lori Trahan to Visit Immigrant Detention Facilities on the US Border

Washington, DC — On Monday, July 1, 2019, Congresswoman Lori Trahan (D-MA-03) will join several of her colleagues from the House of Representatives on a delegation led by the Congressional Hispanic Caucus (CHC) to El Paso and Clint, Texas to visit and tour several facilities used to detain immigrants, including those housing young children and infants in notoriously deplorable conditions. Following the tour of the Clint Border Patrol facilities, the Members will brief the press on how the facility is operating, the treatment of immigrants in the facility, and the enforcement of the Trump Administration’s harmful immigration policies.

“On Monday, I will travel to our southern border to see firsthand the conditions at the Clint, Texas border facility which is currently housing young migrant children. As a mother of two small girls, I am deeply disturbed by reports of children being denied access to basic necessities – toothbrushes, food, and diapers.  I believe that, first and foremost, we must fix this crisis that the Administration created with its family separation policy and then hold those responsible accountable for the inhumane treatment of innocent children and desperate families fleeing violence,” said Rep. Trahan. 


Congresswoman Lori Trahan (MA-3)

And her colleagues

Congressman Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Chairman of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus
Congresswoman Veronica Escobar (TX-16)

Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA-27), Chairwoman of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus

Congressman Pete Aguilar (CA-31)

Congresswoman Norma Torres (CA-35)

Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)

Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)

Congressman Joe Kennedy III (MA-4)

Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33)

Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (MA-7)

Congresswoman Madeleine Dean (PA-4)

Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib (MI-13)

Congressman Greg Stanton (AZ-9)

And Texas elected officials 

State Senator Jose Rodriguez (TX-29)

State Rep. Mary Gonzalez (TX-75)

State Rep. Cesar Blanco (TX-76)

State Rep. James Talarico (TX-52)

State Rep. Art Fierro (TX-79)

State Rep. Lina Ortega (TX-77)

State Rep. Diego Bernal (TX-123)

*please note other Members may be added


Monday, July 1, 2019

Press Conference will begin at approximately 2:00 PM MT


Alameda Avenue and Clint CBP Parking Lot, located here

Clint, Texas 79836


For additional questions, please contact  Those not able to attend the press conference may view the live stream here: 


# # #